Tags

, , , , , , ,

Briess Chocolate Malt

Going through my brewing school notes earlier today, I came across a page of notes that I scribbled down during the lecture portion of our class field trip to Briess Malt & Ingredients Co. in Chilton, WI back in September. The trip was broken into two parts: a talk about malting and Briess products at the main office, and a tour of the nearby main malting facility. During the talk we got some good bits of information on recipe formulation and malts that I must have felt compelled to write down for future reference. This may seem like a random collection of stuff, but hopefully you can find something useful. I know I already found something that I’m now going to give a try.

And…. Briess notes:

-Caramel malts promote oxidation in the finished beer, and darker melanoidins (malliard compounds) are anti-oxidant.

-For an Irish Stout, try a combination of Special B and Black Malt. [I may give this a go soon]

-Caramunich = kiln caramel. Incomplete glassiness of kernels, or blend of caramel and munich.

-Crystal malts = typically 20% non-fermentable. [I think this was meant as based on the fermentability of base malt in the same wort]

-Briess Carapils = 60-70% non-fermentable. Not actually a caramel malt, but a completely different and proprietary production process. Different than Weyermann’s Carapils (Carafoam) which is more like a very pale caramel malt.

-Caramel malts will give you more red color in a wort versus achieving the same SRM with roasted malts, which give more general color.

-Degrees Lovibond =/= hue, just color density.

-Carabrown = super-victory malt. [wait, does this actually exist? Maybe I was thinking brown malt, but they don’t make one.]

So there you have it. Sometimes cryptic, but a little peek into the mind of the maltster.

