It’s been awhile. So why have I been gone so long? Despite not publishing new content for several months, there are still people reading and I think it’s time to explain some things and hopefully get some new and interesting content out there.

Things have changed a lot since the spring. As summer fades into fall (though it’s just getting to be hot now in my new location) it’s time to look back on the last few months and hopefully figure out a new format for Into The Brew. I guess I’ll just cut to the chase and let you know what I’m doing right now. As of the beginning of May (has it been that long already?) I have been working as a cellarman/brewer at Firestone Walker Brewing Company in Paso Robles, CA.

I originally got word of the job in an email from Siebel back in February. After a sending my resume to Firestone’s Brewmaster Matt Brynildson and following up a couple times, we worked out the date for an interview at the brewery and I made the drive down. We had to push it back a bit because of the Craft Brewer’s Conference in San Francisco, but in mid April I came down to the brewery and had an almost day-long working interview in the brewhouse and cellar, with some time spent getting the grand tour from Matt and discussing the job over lunch. Firestone Walker was an intimidating place to step into, and possibly the best put together brewery that I had seen up to that point. I knew that I had found the perfect place to start my career out right. To be honest though, I thought I had no chance of getting the job. The most recent hire before me came from the head brewer position at Lost Coast, and others from lead and head brewer spots at Oscar Blues and Left Coast. I figured there was no way they would go from such good candidates to someone right out of brewing school with almost no work experience.

My interview was on a Tuesday and Matt told me they would have a meeting on Friday and discuss me before making their final decision and getting back to me by the weekend. Well, the next Monday rolled around and there was still no word. I sent Matt an email to inquire as to what was going on and never got a reply. Now I was getting worried. A couple more days past and things weren’t getting better. Then, that Thursday evening, I got a call from an 805 number. It was Matt, in the car. Reception wasn’t good but I managed to get “We want to offer you the job” before the call dropped. So I’m standing on my parent’s back deck with my phone in hand wondering what just happened. Then he called back and asked me if I wanted the job. I had already done enough thinking at this point and had decided on my answer. If Matt Brynildson offers you your first real brewing job making beer at the reining World Beer Cup Midsize Brewery of the Year, you don’t refuse.

More to come…

